Sat, 26 Sep 2020

FCS will not conduct fall playoffs

Field Level Media
08 Aug 2020, 08:05 GMT+10

The Football Championship Subdivision will not conduct its annual playoffs this fall with participating schools in the upcoming regular season falling under a 50 percent threshold, multiple outlets reported Friday

On Friday, the Pioneer Football League and the Big Sky Conference announced they will not field football teams in the fall, citing coronavirus concerns. It means that less than half of the division's 127 participating schools will field teams.

FCS members have not ruled out shifting the entire season to the spring semester, with playoffs to follow a delayed regular season. The Division I Council had until Aug. 21 to consider the fate of the FCS playoffs.

The playoffs, which were expanded to 24 teams in 2013, have been conducted every year since 1978. When first introduced the playoffs consisted of four teams, which was raised to eight in 1981. It was expanded to 20 teams by 2010.

FCS was formerly known as Division I-AA.

North Dakota State has won each of the last three FCS national titles and eight of the last nine. James Madison won the 2016 title.

Participating conferences for the FCS playoffs: Big Sky, Big South, Colonial Athletic Association, Mid-Eastern Athletic, Missouri Valley, Northeast, Ohio Valley, Patriot League, Pioneer, Southern, Southland and Southwestern Athletic.

-Field Level Media

Sign up for Cleveland News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!